

Seattle Intellectual Property American Inn of Court

August 16, 2023

Dear Member:

Welcome to the 2023-2024 year for the Seattle Intellectual Property American Inn of Court. The Inn is a Chapter of the American Inns of Court and a member of the Richard Linn Alliance of Intellectual Property Inns. The American Inns of Court is a preeminent professional organization modeled after the United Kingdom's system of local Inns to foster collegiality among members of the Bar. The American Inns of Court has more than 30,000 judges, lawyers, professors, and law students actively participating. We thank you for being part of that community of professionals and for being a member of the Inn.

Our first meeting will be held on the Argosy boat the Lady Mary on September 21, 2023, cruising Lake Union and Lake Washington. During this dinner meeting we will introduce the 2023-2024 Executive Committee, introduce new members, share member news, introduce the mentorship program, share outreach plans and pro bono opportunities, conduct the new member orientation, and meet with our pupilage groups to begin planning our CLE programs.

The schedule for this year's meetings is attached as Appendix A to this letter (page 3). This month we will email calendar invitations for all 9 meetings and will update these calendar invitations with meeting venue/Zoom details approximately two weeks ahead of each meeting.

Invoices for yearly dues will be emailed to you in September. Your dues cover your national membership costs, as well as meeting costs and the CLE credits you will receive. As in years past, we are asking each member to pay their dues online. You will receive an invoice via email from the National American Inns of Court Inn Management System. Please follow the link in that email and pay your dues online with a credit card. Please let Treasurer Nicholas Kim (nicholas.kim@microsoft.com) know if you have any difficulties paying your invoice.

Dues for 2023-2024 are as follows:

Master (non-Corporate/Government/Academic): \$475 Master (C/G/A) or Barrister (non-C/G/A): \$375

Barrister (C/G/A) or Associate: \$275

Pupils: \$50

Members of Judiciary (Judges and Clerks): \$0

As we have done in the past, you will be assigned to a pupilage team of approximately 15 people. We have taken special care to ensure that each team is a mix of Masters (more than 12 years of practice), Barristers (between 5 - 12 years of practice), Associates, and Students, as well as to ensure a mix of corporate in-house, firm, solo practitioner and other work experiences.

Each pupilage group is responsible for the planning of one CLE during the year, which provides you with an opportunity for personal interaction, peer learning and to showcase or practice your presentation skills. You will receive a separate e-mail from Membership Chair Charlie Zhao (czhao.sipioc@gmail.com) with your pupilage group assignment prior to the first meeting on September 21. Please attend the September meeting so you can meet your pupilage group and begin planning your group's CLE presentation.

This year's Executive Committee members are as follows. Please rely on us as a resource to answer any questions you may have and to discuss ways we can make our organization better.

Role	Name	Email	
President	Lori Tonnes	loritonnes@gmail.com	
President Elect	Dario Machleidt	dmachleidt@kilpatricktownsend.com	
Secretary	Caroline Bercier	bercier@amazon.com	
Treasurer	Nicholas Kim	nicholas.kim@microsoft.com	
Membership Chair	Charlie Zhao	czhao.sipioc@gmail.com	
Program Chair	R. Tyler Kendrick	rkendrick@perkinscoie.com	
Achieving Excellence Chair	Jessica Kaempf	jkaempf@fenwick.com	
Mentorship Chair	Ian Crosby	icrosby@susmangodfrey.com	
Director (Website)	Nicholas Lenning	nicholas.lenning@klgates.com	
Director (At Large)	Stephen McGrath	stevemcg@fb.com	
Director (At Large)	Harold Federow	federow.h@portseattle.org	
Director (At Large)	Tyler McAllister	tmcallister@kilpatricktownsend.com	

Ex Officio Directors – Jerry Riedinger, Paul Leuzzi, Lawrence Graham, Brooke Taylor, Signe Naeve, Brian C. Park, Mark Walters, John Vandenberg, Warren Rheaume, Benjamin Byer, Jonathan McFarland, Regina Culbert, Duncan Macfarlane, Kevin Zeck

This year's active members are listed in Appendix B to this letter (page 4). Member information is also available at the <u>American Inns of Court Member Directory</u>. Student Members will be added to the directory later this month.

To the extent you would like to assist the Executive Committee in helping make this Inn year as robust and engaging as possible, please let me know.

On behalf of the Executive Committee, we look forward to another great year for our Inn!

Best regards,

Lori Tonnes JD MBA 2023-2024 President

Lori Tonnes

Appendix A Schedule of meetings

<u>Date</u>	Time and topic	
September 21, 2023	Welcome/Pupilage Group Meeting 5:00-5:45 p.m.	
October 19, 2023	CLE Dinner Meeting @ K&L Gates 5:30-7:30	
November 16, 2023	CLE Zoom Meeting 5:30-7:00	
January 18, 2023	CLE Dinner Meeting @ Burke Museum 5:30-7:30	
February 15, 2024	CLE Dinner Meeting @Rainier Club 5:30-7:30	
March 21, 2024	CLE Dinner Meeting @ Seattle University Three Inn Meeting (hosted by Seattle IP Inn) 5:30-7:30	
April 18, 2024	CLE Zoom Meeting 5:30-7:00	
May 16, 2024	CLE Dinner Meeting @ Burke Museum 5:30-7:30	
June 13, 2023	End of Year Social @ Perkins Coie 5:30-7:00	

Appendix B 2023-2024 Active Members

(Miranda) Aiqing Wang	Elizabeth A. Findley	Karin Swope	Philip C. Simon
Aaron Weisman	Ellen Bierman	Kate Camarata	Rachel Black
Abe Weill	Emma Elder	Kathleen Geyer	Ramsey Al-Salam
Alexander A. Jurisch	Eric Lindberg	Katie Christensen	Reagan T. Roth
Amanda Simantov	Erin Vivion	Kevin Hagan	Robert Lytle
Anabel Manaloor	Erin C. Kolter	Kevin Zeck	Robert J. Carlson
	Fernanda Rose Loebel		
Andres Healy	Chohfi	Larisa Shmulyan	Hon. Ronald M. Gould
Anna Bakhmetyeva	Floyd Short	Larry Locker	Ryan McBrayer
Antoine McNamara	Geoff Godfrey	Laurel Brown	Ryan Meyer
Benjamin Byer	Harold Federow	Leslie K. English	Samantha Carl
Brad Axel	Ian Crosby	Lori Tonnes	Samantha Hunt
Brian Esler	James Miller	Maggie Chon	Sarah Kalemeris
Brian C. Park	Hon. James Robart	Mark Parris	Sean West
Caroline Bercier	James P. Barker	Mark L. Lorbiecki	Silas Alexander
Caroline Humphreys	Jassiem A. Moore	Mark P. Walters	Stephen McGrath
Charlie Zhao	Jeff Danley	Mark S. Carlson	Stevan Stark
Chris Damitio	Jeff Ware	Michael Meredith	Steve Fogg
Chris Lindemeier	Jeffrey Allan Bowers	Michelle Irwin	Steven Seigel
Christina McCullough	Jenna Bruce	Michelle Pham	Suellen Siqueira-Fisher
Connor McCune	Jennifer Chung	Mike Matesky	Sven Raz
Cory Owan	Jeremy Roller	Hon. Mike Scott	Tanner Laiche
Courtney Neufeld	Jerry Riedinger	Mitchell West	Theodore Angelis
Danielle Nicholson	Jess Nutt	Nathan Reeves	Theresa Wang
Dario Machleidt	Jessica Kaempf	Nathan T. Paine	Tim Seeley
David Tellekson	John Denkenberger	Nicholas Kim	Tim W. Billick
Destinee Evers	John Whitaker	Nicholas Lenning	Tom Shewmake
Doreen Fadaeiforghan	Hon. John H. Chun	Nikki L. Sanford	Tyler Kendrick
Dorianne Salmon	John P. Bossert	Omid Asgharzadeh	Tyler McAllister
Doug Grady	Jon McMichael	Pam K. Jacobson	Warren Rheaume
Douglas Stewart	Jonathan McFarland	Parker Folse	William Powell
Duncan Macfarlane	Jonathan G. Tamimi	Patrick J. Connolly	Winston Luo
Eileen Sun	Joseph Probst	Paul Swanson	Yama Nezam
Elizabeth Weiskopf	Julie Bowman	Paul J. Bruene	